Book Review: Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey_2015-11-11-10-22-41-1

I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella and her works. I read almost every book she wrote. Like “The Shopaholic Series”, “Twenties Girl”, “Wedding Night”, “Can You Keep A Secret?”, and lots more. So when I found out that she was writing a YA Novel, I was so excited to read it. I had really high expectations since I’ve always loved her books. Her books have a romantic comedy, women’s fiction genre that always gets me hooked. And when I say I’ve been hooked by a story, I mean it. It’s either I fell in love with the character, or I felt like I was the character. When the story never leaves me, that’s when I know that it’s a good book. And I have always been honest with my book reviews. So I’d like to share to you a quick review of Sophie Kinsella’s YA Novel, Finding Audrey. Here it goes.

The story is about Audrey, a girl suffering from depression, and how she was able to conquer it with the help of a boy named Linus. Depression like the illness, not just any kind of depression. I think it’s a serious case what she had because she wasn’t able to go out of the house for a long time. She couldn’t handle any kind of physical contact from humans. She wears glasses inside the house because she can’t make eye contact even with her own family. I don’t know anything about depression to be honest, and I guess that’s the purpose of this book. To make us understand what someone in this condition goes through. It’s an eye opener especially to those who think that depression is something you can make fun of.

Though frankly speaking, I couldn’t really say that I loved this book. Like I said earlier, a good story stays with me, and this one didn’t. I guess it’s because I couldn’t really relate with the character. But maybe that’s just because I’m not really the target market for the story. I mean, Sophie did a really great job in documenting the life of someone suffering from depression. She was also able to show how Audrey overcame her condition through medication and encouragement from the people she love. It was really informative and inspirational, it just didn’t left that much of an impact on me.

Another negative point for me is that the reason behind Audrey’s depression, the real cause of why she became that way, was never explained in the book. Well, there were a few hints here and there, but the full story was never explicitly told. It left me with a lot of questions. I guess maybe Sophie’s planning to write a sequel. I’m not sure.

Overall, it was OK. It can be helpful especially for those that are in the same boat as Audrey. I think it’s just not something I’m interested in. But that will never change my admiration towards Sophie. For me she’s still the best and I would still read her books. I’ve been eying her latest addition to the Shopaholic series, “Shopaholic to the Rescue”. I promise to write a review once I’ve read it.

Well, that’s it for this review, if you have read Finding Audrey as well, please share your experience in the comments below. Thank you so much for your time. Have a nice day. Bye!

LiezπŸ’‹Β 

Leave a Reply

