Percy Jackson and The Olympians (Book Recommendations Part 2)


Yet another list of fictional novels, and this time these are the works of Rick Riordan. In this series, you’ll learn more about Greek Mythology by following the life of a modern demigod named Percy Jackson.

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

In this book Percy discovers that he is a demigod and enters Camp Half Blood where all demigods train to protect themselves from being killed by monsters. After being claimed as Poseidon’s son, he went to a quest guided by the Oracle to find Zues’ symbol of power, the Lightning Bolt, to avoid a raging war against the gods from happening. Read about Percy’s adventures in his quest and get to know the Greek Gods like Zues, Ares, Hades, Dionysus and many others.

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters

This is the second book in the series. In this book, Percy meets Tyson, a young cyclops who turns out to be Poseidon’s son as well. He also finds out that the borders of Camp Half Blood has been destroyed because the pine tree that’s been protecting it has been poisoned. To keep the camp from being attacked by monsters, Percy and his friends, Annabeth and Tyson had to go on another quest to retrieve the Golden Fleece. Find out about Percy’s adventures in retrieving the Golden Fleece which is located in an island in the Sea of Monsters where Grover, Percy’s satyr best friend is also being kept prisoner by the cyclops Polyphemus.

Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse

This is the third book in the series where Percy and his friends met two powerful demigod siblings named Nico and Bianca. They also met the Hunters of Artemis who helped them in preventing Dr. Thorn, a manticore, from capturing Nico and Bianca. However, Dr. Thorn was able to escape taking Annabeth with him. Artemis went on a hunt for a powerful monster, leaving her hunters at Camp Half Blood. Later on, Percy and Zoe Nightshade, one of the hunters, dreamed about Annabeth and Artemis being taken as captives by Atlas and Luke’s army. Atlas made Annabeth carry the weight of the sky which Artemis took from her. Percy, Thalia, Grover, Zoe and Bianca went on a quest to rescue Artemis and Annabeth. In this book you’ll find out about the obstacles Percy and his friends faced during their quest and how Percy took the Titan’s Curse himself.

Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth

In this book, Percy tries to stop traitor Luke Castellan from raising an army of monsters through the Labyrinth which could lead them to an entrance to Camp Half Blood. He tries to find Daedalus in the hopes of convincing him not to give Ariadne’s string to Luke which could be his guide in navigating the Labyrinth. You’ll read about his adventures with his friends in finding their way through the Labyrinth, and a little love triangle between Percy, Annabeth and his mortal friend Rachel.

Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian

This is the last book in the series where The Great Prophecy finally happens. Percy battles the Titan Kronos while defending the Empire State Building where Mt. Olympus is located. You’ll read about how Percy leads the other demigods in battle and proves that he is indeed a hero of Olympus.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s